News2019 Flood


FEMA/SBA deadlines approaching for flood victims in NE and IA

Posted at 11:00 AM, Jun 14, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-14 17:51:43-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — People all over the Midwest are still recovering from historic flooding earlier this year. With the approval of disaster declarations, there's help available for those who need it but the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) says the deadline to do so is approaching fast for people in Nebraska and Iowa.

People who were affected by flooding between March 12 - May 16, in Iowa, may apply. FEMA says the cutoff to do so is July 1.

People in the following "disaster-designated counties" may be eligible:

  • Fremont, Harrison
  • Louisa
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Pottawattamie
  • Scott
  • Shelby
  • Woodbury

Grants may help in a number of ways:

"Disaster survivors who register for assistance with FEMA may be eligible for grants to help pay for renting a place to live until their primary residence can be repaired, to pay for minor structural repairs, to replace essential personal property and/or to pay for disaster-related medical or dental needs not covered by insurance.

Some survivors may have more significant damage and will need a larger amount of money to help with their recovery. For those situations, a low-interest disaster loan from the SBA may be the best option.

These loans are the primary source of funds for repairs to homes and businesses and/or for replacement of personal property after a disaster. Renters and homeowners may borrow up to $40,000 to repair or replace clothing, furniture, cars and appliances damaged or destroyed in this disaster. Homeowners may borrow up to $200,000 to pay for structural repairs to their primary residence or rebuilding a house. Businesses and private, non-profits may borrow up to $2 million both for physical repairs and economic injury.

Survivors referred to SBA can complete an application online at [].

A completed application must be submitted to maintain eligibility for additional FEMA grants."

They have provided the following information for those who want to register:

For more information about SBA loans:

Remember: if you still want to register with FEMA or apply to the SBA, you have until Monday, July 1 to do so!

For more information on the Iowa disaster and a variety of recovery resources, log on to: [] or call 2-1-1. Additional information can be found at [].

The Small Business Administration put out this release in regards to Iowa nonprofits today:

"SBA Amends Disaster Declaration for Iowa; Disaster Assistance Now Available to Private Nonprofit Organizations in 14 Additional Counties

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Low-interest federal disaster loans are now available to certain private nonprofit organizations in Buchanan, Clayton, Clinton, Des Moines, Jackson, Jones, Lee, Louisa, Mitchell, Muscatine, Ringgold, Scott, Winnebago and Worth counties following the amendment to President Trump’s April 5, 2019, major disaster declaration for Public Assistance as a result of severe storms and flooding that occurred March 12 – April 16, 2019, announced acting Administrator Christopher M. Pilkerton of the U.S. Small Business Administration. Private nonprofits that provide essential services of a governmental nature are eligible for assistance.

These low-interest federal disaster loans are available in Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Audubon, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Decatur, Des Moines, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Louisa, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Montgomery, Muscatine, O’Brien, Osceola, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas , Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Tama, Union, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth and Wright counties.

“Private nonprofit organizations should contact Public Assistance Bureau Chief Katie Waters at the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department by calling (515) 725-3231 or emailing to obtain information about applicant briefings. At the briefings, private nonprofit representatives will need to provide information about their organization,” said Director Tanya N. Garfield of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West. The Federal Emergency Management Agency will use that information to determine if the private nonprofit provides an “essential governmental service” and is a “critical facility” as defined by law. If so, FEMA may provide the private nonprofit with a Public Assistance grant for their eligible costs. If not, FEMA may refer the private nonprofit to SBA for disaster loan assistance.

For certain private nonprofit organizations of any size, SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. Economic Injury Disaster Loans may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that cannot be paid because of the disaster’s impact. Economic injury assistance is available regardless of whether the private nonprofit suffered any property damage.

The interest rate is 2.75 percent with terms up to 30 years. The deadline to apply for economic injury is Jan. 6, 2020.

Applicants may apply online, receive additional disaster assistance information and download applications at Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at (800) 659-2955 or email for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155."

FEMA provided this information for Nebraska residents:

"There is less than a week remaining for survivors to register for disaster assistance after the winter storm, straight-line winds and flooding in March. The deadline to apply is June 19, 2019 for both the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) individual assistance grants and the low interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

FEMA disaster grants for qualified homeowners and renters may help pay for basic repairs to make a home habitable, provide temporary rental assistance and provide assistance for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance.

After registering for disaster assistance with FEMA, survivors may be referred to the SBA to applyfor a low-interest disaster loan. SBA disaster loans provide the largest source of long-term federal disaster recovery funds for homeowners, renters, business owners and private nonprofits.

There are multiple ways to register:

• Online, visit

• On a smart phone, download the FEMA app and click on “disaster resources,” then “apply for assistance online.”

• By phone, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY).

The deadline for local governments, tribal nations and nonprofit organizations, such as houses of worship, to register for FEMA Public Assistance is June 20, 2019. FEMA reimburses eligible applicants for the eligible costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or restoration of disaster-damaged public buildings. The program also encourages mitigation measures to protect these damaged facilities from future natural disasters.

For any SBA disaster assistance questions or application information, residents and businesses can visit, call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955, or email, or 800-877-8339 (TTY).

For more information on Nebraska’s disaster recovery, visit"