Crouch, Wiegert back on Hall of Fame Ballot

Posted at 1:15 PM, Jun 01, 2016
and last updated 2016-06-01 14:15:56-04
The National Football Foundation released the names of 75 former Football Bowl Subdivision players that will appear on the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot. Among the names were former Husker Heisman-winning quarterback Eric Crouch and Outland Trophy award winner Zach Wiegert.
Wiegert is appearing on the ballot for the second time, while and Crouch is appearing for the sixth straight year. 
Seventeen Husker players have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, the most recent being Trev Alberts in 2015. Alberts was the fourth Husker in seven years. If Crouch were to be inducted, he would be the second Husker quarterback to be inducted, joining Tommie Frazier who was part of the 2013 class. 
Crouch was a consensus All American in 2001 as well as the winner of the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Davey O’Brien Award and the Sporting News Offensive Player of the Year award his senior year. 
Wiegert earned unanimous first team All-American honors in 1994. He was also a finalist for the Lombardi Award, the UPI Lineman of the Year and the Touchdown Club of Columbus Offensive Lineman of the Year. Both Crouch and Wiegert’s jersey’s are retired. 
The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame class will be announced on Jan. 6, 2017, which is the Friday before the College Football Playoff National Championship. 
Contact the writer:
Twitter: @Tyler_Martin78