News2019 Flood


More Nebraska counties eligible for FEMA reimbursement

Posted at 6:15 PM, Apr 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-16 19:15:50-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — Twenty additional counties in Nebraska are now eligible for FEMA reimbursement for repair and replacement of public facilities.

The major disaster declaration for Nebraska is amended to now authorize Public Assistance (PA) grants, which will help repair property damaged by severe weather in March.

The amendment adds the following, according to a press release from the State of Nebraska:

  • 11 counties, Banner, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Franklin, Garden, Kimball, Phelps, Sheridan, Sioux and Webster, designated for all PA categories (emergency work and permanent work).
  • Three counties, Saunders, Stanton and Thurston for Categories C - G (already designated for Individual Assistance and assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures [Categories A and B], including direct federal assistance).
  • Six counties, Brown, Harlan, Keya Paha, Lincoln, Merrick and Rock for Categories C - G (already designated for debris removal and emergency protective measures [Categories A and B], including direct federal assistance).

FEMA's grant program provides federal assistance to state and local governments and certain kinds of private nonprofits after a presidential disaster declaration. Public Assistance grants help communities respond and recover from major destruction.

Through this program, FEMA can reimburse eligible costs for removal of debris, emergency protective measures and the repair/replacement/restoration of disaster-impacted facilities.

Sixty-five counties and five tribal nations were previously approved for Public Assistance grants to help with the cost of emergency services and debris removal, including direct federal assistance (Categories A-B).

The following counties are now eligible for Categories C-G at a federal cost share of not less than 75 percent:
Adams, Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Box Butte, Boyd, Buffalo, Burt, Butler, Cass, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Custer, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Frontier, Furnas, Gage, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hall, Holt, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lancaster, Logan, Loup, Madison, Morrill, Nance, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Pierce, Platte, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Sherman, Valley, Washington, Wayne and Wheeler Counties.