Disaster assistance begins in 18 counties

Posted at 2:31 PM, Aug 08, 2017
and last updated 2017-08-08 22:13:19-04

Nebraska emergency management is working with Douglas, Sarpy and 15 other counties to get disaster assistance after the June 16 storm. 

Disaster assistance work is under way following the Aug. 1 approval of a major a disaster declaration by President Trump.

RELATED: Bellevue community rebuilds after June tornado

Other eligible Nebraska counties include Banner, Box Butte, Butler, Cass, Cuming, Dodge, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Morrill, Polk, Saunders, Sheridan, Sioux, Thurston, and Wayne.

Meetings will take place in each county in the coming weeks to discuss how federal money can be used for public-owned buildings damaged in the storm.

“We have hit the ground running and are reaching out to local governments to get the disaster-assistance process started,” said Bryan Tuma, assistant director of the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA). “We know how important it is to help our communities financially with storm costs as soon as we can.”

President Trump approved the disaster declaration last week. The declaration was requested because of the June 12-17 severe storms and tornadoes throughout the state.

Homeowners and businesses cannot receive money. However, they do qualify for low-interest disaster loans.

The declaration allows for financial assistance for state, tribal and local governments as well as certain non-profits.

According to a release, NEMA officials have scheduled applicant briefings in the counties where representatives from local governments will learn about how the program works, the types of clean-up and repair work that are eligible and the documentation needed to receive financial assistance.