NewsLocal News


Three-judge panel appointed in case of Bailey Boswell

bailey boswell in court
Posted at 4:58 PM, Dec 11, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-12 18:26:38-05

LINCOLN, Neb. (KMTV) — A three judge sentencing panel for State of Nebraska v. Bailey Boswell, CR 18-41, in the District Court for Saline County has been named.

Back in October, jurors took less than four hours to find Boswell guilty for her involvement in the killing, dismemberment and disposal of Syndey Loofe's body in November 2017.

Presiding Judge Vicky Johnson requested the Chief Justice appoint two judges as panel members, in accordance with Nebraska statute. The judges, Darla Ideus (3rd Judicial District) and Peter Bataillon (4th Judicial District) were randomly selected from a statewide list of judges. Johnson will serve as the presiding judge.

The three judge panel will decide whether she faces the death penalty or life in prison. A three judge panel is needed under Nebraska law to consider the death penalty in the sentencing phase of the trial.

Generally, hearings of the three judge panels occur in the same location as the original trial.

Statutes governing the death penalty and the three-judge panel, including the Statement of Intent of the legislature, are found at Nebraska Revised Statutes §§ 29-2519 to 29-2524.

Download our apps today for all of our latest coverage.

Get the latest news and weather delivered straight to your inbox.