Early voting starts in Nebraska’s 1st District special election

Drop Box
Posted at 5:07 PM, May 31, 2022
and last updated 2022-05-31 18:07:19-04

OMAHA, Neb. (Nebraska Examiner) — Nebraska voters can start casting in-person early ballots Tuesday May 31 for the June 28 special election, which will determine who will finish the final six months of former Rep. Jeff Fortenberry’s term, following his resignation in March.

Voters in all of Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Dodge, Lancaster, Madison, Platte, Seward and Stanton Counties, along with voters in parts of Polk and Sarpy Counties, make up Nebraska’s 1st Congressional District.

Those running to replace Fortenberry are State Sen. Mike Flood of Norfolk, a Republican and former speaker of the Legislature, and State Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks of Lincoln, a Democrat.

County election officials will start mailing out already-requested early voting ballots Tuesday, according to the Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office. June 17 is the last day to request a ballot by mail for the special election. Get the form to request a ballot here.

Nebraska Examiner is part of States Newsroom, a network of news bureaus supported by grants and a coalition of donors as a 501c(3) public charity. Nebraska Examiner maintains editorial independence. Contact Editor Cate Folsom for questions: Follow Nebraska Examiner on Facebook and Twitter.

Download our apps today for all of our latest coverage.

Get the latest news and weather delivered straight to your inbox.