News2019 Flood


Disaster Unemployment Assistance available to Nebraskans in 15 counties, Santee Sioux Nation

Posted: 5:08 PM, Apr 09, 2019
Updated: 2019-04-09 18:08:39-04
Flood aerial

LINCOLN, Neb. (KMTV) — Individuals in 15 Nebraska counties and the Santee Sioux Nation who have lost their jobs temporarily or permanently may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

Workers in Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington counties have until April 26 to apply.

Workers in Boone, Buffalo, Custer, Knox, Richardson and Thurston counties and the Santee Sioux Nation have until May 3 to apply.

More information about DUA can be found here.

To apply for DUA benefits, follow these steps according to a press release from FEMA:
· File online at NEworks [] or call 402-458-2500 from Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
· Provide a Social Security Number. A representative will determine eligibility and assist in filing the DUA claim.
· Provide proof of income. Proof of income from the most recent complete tax year must be provided within 21 days of filing the initial DUA claim.

DUA is funded by FEMA and administered by the State of Nebraska.