News2019 Flood


FEMA - Counties in Iowa may now apply for disaster assistance

Posted at 12:28 PM, Apr 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-18 13:28:10-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) says two Iowa counties may now apply for federal disaster assistance.

According to their release, "Residents of Pottawattamie and Shelby counties now can apply for disaster assistance to help them recover from the severe storms and flooding that began March 12."

FEMA applicants may be eligible for grants to help them pay for "temporary housing and minimal home repairs as well as other serious disaster-related unmet needs such as eligible medical and dental expenses and replacing essential personal property."

Pottawattamie and Shelby Counties join five others that had previously been designated for state and federal assistance.

The others are:

  • Fremont
  • Harrison
  • Mills
  • Monona
  • Woodbury

You can read the full release which includes a step-by-step application process at the following link: