News2019 Flood


Six additional Nebraska counties added for disaster assistance

Flooding aerial 1
Posted at 10:55 AM, Mar 31, 2019
and last updated 2019-03-31 11:55:47-04

LINCOLN, Neb. (KMTV) — Residents and business owners in six additional Nebraska counties can now apply for disaster assistance for losses due to severe weather in March.

These counties include Boone, Buffalo, Custer, Knox, Richardson and Thurston Counties, along with the Santee Sioux Nation. Additional counties may be added as damage assessments continue, a press release from Governor Ricketts' office says.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) staff continue working tirelessly to evaluate additional damages.

How to apply for assistance, according to the press release:
- Online, visit
- On a smart phone, download the FEMA app and click on “disaster resources,” then “apply for assistance online.”
- By phone, call FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS). Telephone registration is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central Daylight Time seven days a week.
- Visit a Disaster Recovery Center and speak to a FEMA specialist one-on-one. To find the nearest DRC, go online to

Those affected may be eligible for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to help recover from losses that are not covered by insurance, grants, or other sources. Visit or call SBA's Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 for more information.

Other counties eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance include Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington Counties.