News2019 Flood


SNAP grocery assistance for flood victims being offered

Posted at 1:02 PM, Mar 28, 2019
and last updated 2019-03-28 15:32:14-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (NDHHS) says some flood victims in Nebraska may be eligible for grocery assistance.

Due to the presidential Disaster Declaration they say:

The United States Department of Agriculture and the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services’ Division of Children and Family Services have approved the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) for affected, qualified individuals in the following counties and areas:

ButlerNemahaDouglas County Zip Codes:
68007, 68022, 68064, 68069, 68112, 68122, 68142, 68152

D-SNAP has different qualifying rules than the traditional SNAP program.

NDHHS says you may qualify if you've suffered one or more of the following flood-disaster related expenses:

  • Home or business repairs
  • Temporary shelter expenses
  • Evacuation or relocation expenses
  • Home or business protection
  • Disaster-related personal injury, including funeral expenses
  • Lost or no access to income due to the disaster, including reduced, terminated or delayed receipt of income, for a large part of the benefit period
  • In some cases, food loss after a disaster, like flooding or power outages

More from the release below:

DHHS officials will determine eligibility based on available income, minus unreimbursed disaster related expenses. All resources except cash on hand and in bank accounts will be excluded from the eligibility determination.

If approved for D-SNAP, the benefits will be provided on an Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card within three days of approval. EBT cards are used like debit cards to buy food at most local grocery stores.

Applicants must visit a DHHS assistance site for in-person verifications and to receive an EBT card. A driver’s license or another form of identification from the head of household must be provided. The application process may be started at the ACCESSNebraska website []. Fill out an application and submit it, or print the completed application and take it to an assistance site.

Applications for D-SNAP benefits must be made on or before Thursday, April 4 at one of the locations listed below. Daily hours of operation at each location will be weekdays, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Saturdays and Sundays, 12 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Arlington Public School
705 N. 9th Street, Arlington
Community Resource Center
1324 Silver Street, Ashland
First Baptist Church
112 E. 23rd Avenue, Bellevue
Bellwood Fire Hall
752 41 Road, Bellwood
208 N. 19th Street, Blair
Lord of Life Church
20844 Bonanza Boulevard, Elkhorn
Fort Calhoun
Fort Calhoun Fire Hall
602 N. 14th Street, Fort Calhoun
Fremont Public School Admin Bldg.
130 E 9th Street, east meeting room, Fremont
North Bend
North Bend Public Library
110 E. 13th Street, North Bend
Douglas County Extension Office
8015 W. Center Road, Omaha
Millard Public Library
13214 Westwood Lane, Omaha
Peru Community Church
520 Nebraska Street, Peru
Plattsmouth Library Auditorium
401 Avenue A, Plattsmouth
Presbyterian Church
802 A Street, Schuyler
Springfield Library Auditorium
665 Main Street, Springfield
Valley City Building
921 S. Mayne Street, Valley
Waterloo Public Library
23704 Cedar Drive, Waterloo

*Fremont hours of operation Saturday, 3/30 will run 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

While all application sites are accessible, the following additional locations are available to accommodate those applicants with mobility or accessibility issues:

DHHS Office
1908 O Street, Auburn
DHHS Office
1959 E. Military Avenue, Fremont
DHHS Office
1500 N. 24th Street, Omaha
DHHS Office
1313 Farnam Street, 3rd floor, Omaha

Current SNAP Recipients

Current SNAP recipients in the following areas DO NOT need to go through the application process to receive assistance: Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Sarpy, and Washington counties. SNAP recipients in these counties will automatically receive a supplemental benefit if they are not already receiving the maximum amount for their household size.

SNAP recipients in the following zip codes within the following counties will also receive a supplemental benefit automatically and do not need to visit an application site: Douglas (68007, 68022, 68064, 68069, 68112, 68122, 68142 and 68152), Nemaha (68305, 68321, 68414 and 68421), and Saunders (68003, 68015, 68033, 68035, 68041, 68073 and 68648). SNAP recipients who lived or worked in other areas of Nemaha County or Saunders County may request disaster supplements by contacting DHHS to attest to their disaster losses by April 4, 2019.

Assistance will also be available at the above listed locations to apply for other DHHS administered programs, such as Medicaid, Aid to Dependent Children, Aid to the Aged, Blind and Disabled, Respite, Child Care Provider Natural Disaster Recovery and Emergency Assistance.

FEMA is continuing to review counties for eligibility for individual assistance and they will be added as they qualify. DHHS will provide updates should additional counties become eligible

For more on this and other disaster related information from DHHS like and follow us onFacebook [] and Twitter [].