NewsLocal News


Fireworks sales begin Wednesday for state, but not in Omaha

Posted at 5:00 AM, Jun 23, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-23 17:18:46-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — Starting tomorrow, fireworks can be bought and discharged in the state of Nebraska, but those living in the Omaha metro area will have to wait a little longer.

A variety of fireworks may be sold across Nebraska; however, there are some restrictions. Fireworks sold at Nebraska stands must be legal in Nebraska. It is against the law to transport illegal fireworks into the state. For a full list of illegal fireworks, visit Nebraska State Fire Marshal site.

Consumer fireworks may only be possessed, used or discharged by a person 16 years of age or older; provided, that a person 12 years of age or older and less than 16 years of age may possess, use or discharge consumer fireworks, but only when in the immediate presence of and under the direct supervision of an adult 19 years of age or older.

Though the state allows fireworks to be sold and discharged beginning June 25, some local ordinances do not permit the used of fireworks until a later date.

City ordinances for Omaha say fireworks can only be sold by those with a permit from Sunday, June 28 through July 4. The fireworks can only be fired from July 2 to July 4 from 12 p.m. noon to 11 p.m

Those in Papillion can buy and discharge fireworks starting Thursday, June 25. The fireworks can be fired only during the hours of 8 a.m. through 10 p.m., except that on July 4 consumer fireworks may be discharged and sold from 8 a.m. through 11:59 p.m. of each year.

La Vista fireworks sales start at 8 a.m. until 11 p.m. from June 28 through July 4. Discharge of fireworks between June 28 through July 2 are from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. Discharge of fireworks between July 3rd and 4th are from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

In Bellevue, from 8:00am to 10:00pm on any day fromThursday, June 25 through July 3. Only July 4, fireworks can be sold and fired from 8:00am to midnight.

Gretna residents can buy and discharge fireworks starting Thursday, June 25 until July 5. Firworks can be fired from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., except on July fourth when they can be fired until midnight.