NewsLocal News


Iowa holds primary elections

Posted at 6:25 AM, Jun 06, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-06 08:09:33-04

Iowa held its primary elections last night to determine who would square off in the races for Governor, four Congressional Districts and Secretary of State. 

In the Governor's race, businessman Fred Hubbell emerged from a crowded Democratic field to challenge incumbent Republican Kim Reynolds. 

In District 1, 28-year-old Abby Finkenauer won the Democratic primary with 67 percent of the vote. In the general election, she will face incumbent Rod Blum, who ran uncontested on the Republican side. 

In District 2, Democrat Dave Loebsack and Republican Christopher Peters ran unopposed.

Cindy Axne, a small business owner, won the Democratic primary in the Third Congressional District. Axne will face Republican David Young in the general election. 

In District 4, former Nebraska and Morningside baseball player JD Scholten won the Democratic primary and will face incumbent Steve King, who received 74 percent of the vote in the Republican primary.