Iowa Primary: Unofficial results nearly complete

Iowa Primary: Unofficial results nearly complete
Posted at 12:29 AM, Jun 08, 2016
and last updated 2016-06-08 08:51:40-04

The votes are still being counted, but the major races in the 2016 Iowa Primary have already been decided. 

As of 12:30 a.m. Wednesday, 95 percent of the precincts had reported statewide.  Former Iowa Lieutenant Governor Patty Judge won the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate, overcoming a challenge from State Senator Rob Hogg and two other candidates. Judge will now face incumbent Republican Senator Chuck Grassley, who is seeking a seventh term. Grassley has not lost an election since he first ran for the Iowa Legislature in 1958. Judge decided to jump into the race in March after Grassley refused to hold hearings for President Obama's pick to fill the late Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia's seat on the high court.
Former Iowa National Guardsman Jim Mowrer won the Democratic nomination in the 3rd Congressional District, and will face incumbent Republican David Young, who easily defeated Joe Grandanette.  Incumbent Republican Steve King won his primary race in the 4th Congressional District, defeating State Senator Rick Bertrand. 
In Mills County, with one precinct left to report at midnight Wednesday, Carol Vinton held a slim 12 vote lead over Lonnie Mayberry as the top two vote-getters in the Republican County Board of Supervisors At-Large race. The top two advance to the November election.
Election results are not final until they're certified by the Iowa Secretary of State