Crouch/Wiegert up for 2017 CFB Hall of Fame

Posted at 12:26 PM, Jun 01, 2016
and last updated 2016-06-01 13:26:01-04

Former Huskers Eric Crouch and Zach Wiegert both are on the ballot for the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame. They join 73 other candidates from the Football Bowl Subdivision ranks of college football. 

Crouch, the 2001 Heisman Trophy winner, set an NCAA record for career rushing touchdowns by a quarterback, 59, as he led his option-based offense to the National Championship game in 2001.  In addition to being Nebraska's third Heisman Trophy winner that year, he also was the recipient of the Davey O' Briend award, Walter Camp Player of the Year award and Sporting News Offensive Player of the Year award. His No. 7 was retired the following year in 2002. It will be his sixth year on the ballot.

Wiegert, the Outland Trophy winner and unanimous first team All-American in 1994, anchored a Husker offensive line that won the National Championship and averaged 340 rushing yards per game. He even earned one first place vote for the Heisman Trophy that year. His No. 72 was retired prior to the 1995 season. It will be his second year on the ballot.

Crouch and Wiegert look to be the 18th and 19th former Huskers inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The 2017 class will be announced on Jan. 7, 2017, the Friday before the College Football National Championship.