Husker trio nominated for College Hall of Fame

Husker trio nominated for College Hall of Fame
Posted at 9:27 PM, Jun 01, 2017
and last updated 2017-06-01 22:27:54-04

Three former Nebraska football stars are among 75 finalists from the Football Bowl Subdivision nominated Thursday for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

The three Huskers on the 2018 ballot for induction are Heisman-winning quarterback Eric Crouch and two Outland Trophy award-winning offensive lineman in Aaron Taylor and Zach Weigert.

Crouch would become the second Nebraska quarterback to join the Hall of Fame alongside Tommie Frazier, who was inducted in 2013. Crouch became the Huskers' third Heisman Trophy winner in 2001 after leading Nebraska to the national championship game.  The Millard North alum set the NCAA career record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59, and amassed 7,915 yards of total offense in his career.

Taylor is the only player in Husker history to earn All-America honors at two different positions. In 1996, Taylor was a first-team All-American at center. Then the following year, he transitioned to offensive guard and was a unanimous All-American and Outland Trophy Winner.

Wiegert was a unanimous first-team All-American in 1994, as part of the Huskers' national championship team the same year. Wiegert is one of eight Nebraska Outland Trophy winners.

The 2018 class will be announced on Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta on the day of the College Football Playoff championship game.