Mike Riley announces captains for 2017 season

Mike Riley announces captains for 2017 season
Posted at 5:44 PM, Aug 26, 2017
and last updated 2017-08-26 18:51:38-04

On Saturday afternoon, Mike Riley announced the captains for Nebraska's upcoming 2017 season.  Those captains are junior quarterback Tanner Lee, junior offensive lineman Jerald Foster, senior fullback Luke McNitt, senior safety Joshua Kalu, and senior linebacker Chris Weber.

The three in-state captains are the most by a Nebraska team since 2001 when that squad also had three.

This marks the 5th straight season NU has had an offensive lineman as a captain. Kalu is also the 5th different defensive back to be named a captain since 2013.

The Huskers open the 2017 campaign on Saturday, September 2nd against Arkanasas State inside Memorial Stadium.  The game will be televised on BTN starting at 7 p.m.