Nebraska football players honored for work in the classroom

Nebraska football players honored for work in the classroom
Posted at 3:27 PM, Dec 07, 2016
and last updated 2016-12-07 16:28:31-05

Nebraska football not only prides itself on its work on the field, but in the classroom as well. The Big Ten Conference announced its its fall Academic All-Big Ten honorees Wednesday, a list that included 25 members of the Nebraska football team.

Sam Cotton and Brandon Reilly both earned academic all-conference honors for the fourth time, while Josh Banderas, Chris Weber and Jordan Westerkamp were honored for a third time. The six two-time Academic All-Conference selections include Freedom Akinmoladun, Jerald Foster, Sam Hahn, Luke McNitt, Mick Stoltenberg and Dylan Utter.

In order to become eligible for the honor, students must be letter-winners in at least their second academic year, earning a 3.0 grade-point average or higher. Another 28 University of Nebraska-Lincoln student athletes earned Academic All-Big Ten honors.

Here is the complete list of the Nebraska football Academic All-Big Ten honorees:

Freedom Akinmoladun, Psychology (2x honoree)

Josh Banderas, Management (3x)

Mohamed Barry, Communication Studies

Sam Cotton, Business Administration, Marketing (4x)

Michael Decker, Political Science

Jerald Foster, Construction Management (2x)

Sam Hahn, Agronomy (2x)

Tyler Hoppes, Sociology

David Knevel, History/Political Science

Spencer Lindsay, History

Luke McNitt, Management (2x)

Graham Nabity, Construction Management

A.J. Natter, Management/Marketing

Robby Painter, Mechanical Engineering

Gabe Rahn, Nutrition, Exercise & Health Science

Logan Rath, Agricultural Economics

Brandon Reilly, Management/Marketing (4x)

Mick Stoltenberg, Management (2x)

Jamie Sutcliffe, Marketing

Dylan Utter, History (2x)

Chris Weber, Nutrition Science (3x)

Jordan Westerkamp, Management (3x)

Dedrick Young II, Supply Chain Management

Tanner Zlab, Agronomy/Fisheries & Wildlife