College Home Run Derby participants announced

Posted at 12:57 PM, Jun 27, 2019

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — The College World Series just ended, but if you still need more baseball, you're in luck. The 10th annual College Home Run Derby is this Saturday at TD Ameritrade Park.

T.J. Collett from the Kentucky Wildcats, Northern Kentucky's Griffin Doersching, Mississippi's Tyler Keenan, Wake Forest's Chris Lanzilli, Duke's Michael Rothenburg and Cal's Quentin Selma make up this season's field. The event coincides with the 35th annual Omaha World-Herald Fireworks Show, which happens immediately after the Derby.

Collett mashed ten home runs this year and has cracked 20 in two years with Kentucky. Doersching smacked 13 homers, and has hit 26 in his two seasons with the Norse. Mississippi's Keenan hit 15 home runs, with 24 total in his two seasons. Lanzilli left the park 16 times this season, and 25 total over two seasons with Wake Forest. Duke's Rothenburg hit 11 home runs this year, and has 13 in his Blue Devil career. Selma hit ten home runs this season, the first of his college career. Last season's winner, Nic Ready of Air Force, will not be participating this year, as he is a senior.

The Derby will be televised on ESPN2 and will begin at 7 o'clock. Tickets can be purchased by clicking here.