News2019 Flood


4 additional counties FEMA eligible, 2 others for more assistance

Posted at 5:46 PM, May 07, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-07 18:46:32-04

OMAHA, Neb. (KMTV) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) says the disaster declaration for Nebraska has been amended, making four additional counties eligible for assistance. Two previously included counties are now eligible for additional asssitance as well.

FEMA's release:

The major disaster declaration for the State of Nebraska has been amended on May 6, 2019, to authorize Public Assistance (PA) grants for six additional counties to help pay for repair and replacement of public facilities damaged as a result of the March winter storm, straight-line winds and flooding.

The amendment adds:

  • Four counties, Clay, Dawson, Kearney and Polk, designated for all PA categories (emergency work and permanent work).
  • Two counties, Seward and York, now designated to receive PA permanent work as well as the emergency work for which they originally qualified.

FEMA’s Public Assistance grant program provides federal assistance to state and local governments and certain types of private nonprofit organizations following a presidential disaster declaration. Public Assistance can help communities quickly respond to and recover from major disasters or emergencies.

Through the program, FEMA can reimburse eligible costs for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain private nonprofit organizations. The Public Assistance program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process.

As a result of the amendment, there are now 76 Nebraska counties designated for all categories of PA assistance. Four counties and five tribes have been designated for emergency work and debris removal assistance.

FEMA's mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has faced discrimination, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585 (TTY). Multilingual operators are available.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. For more information, applicants may contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955. TTY users may also call 800-877-8339. Applicants may also email or visit SBA at [].